“You’re Not Famous Anymore”

Posted: July 27, 2010 in General Sports, Soccer
Tags: , ,

If you had asked me a few years ago how I felt about facing Daggenham and Redbridge at the start of the 2010/11 season, I would have laughed in your face. Unfortunately, as a Sheffield Wednesday fan, I can no longer be so arrogant.
 
Like many Owls, I too am under the impression that we are much bigger than we are. In fact, up until recently, I was a firm believer that “a club like Wednesday deserves to be in the Premiership.” But why do we? What on earth makes us better than the Championship, or on a level with clubs like Blackpool?
 
“We have a big ground and loyal fans,” is usually the reply, “we’re a famous club and we used to be world-beaters.”
 
Incorrect.
 
Unfortunately, my fellow Owls, we’re not “THE Sheffield Wednesday” anymore. (However, when Daggenham were promoted; the Sky interviewer asked one of their players “How amazing does it feel to know you’ll be facing the likes of Sheffield Wednesday next season?” Usually I’d be proud but in reality it just felt like a kick to the stomach.)
 
We used to be huge, correct. Now? Not so much. Sure, we have an impressive ground, fantastic fans and a colourful history  – but that is where it ends. What we now have, folks, is a club without a chairman, a £550k unpaid tax bill, a decent squad (for League One) and a vast amount of strikers.
 
Last night (Sunday, July 25) I went to watch the Yorkshire Masters tournament at the Sheffield Arena for one reason and one reason only: Benito Carbone. My childhood hero was back in town and there was no way that I was going to miss it. I even got there an hour early to meet the Italian God and, as I stood waiting for him to get out of the car, my heart was almost beating through my chest. I stammered a polite request for him to sign my shirt and was shaking so hard when I passed him the pen through the fence that I almost dropped it.
 
I have never been so excited in my life. How pathetic is that? The sight of ‘Benni’ in those famous blue and white stripes again nearly finished me off.
 
When he took to the carpeted pitch, the crowd (which was double the usual amount) went crazy for him. Even the children behind us, who wouldn’t even have been born when he was playing, knew who he was. This guy had been a megastar – Manchester United had wanted him. He was, and still is, the greatest player I have ever seen live. Best of all, he didn’t disappoint. Every touch, every pass, every shot, every run was perfect and timed to perfection. He truly has ‘still got it’ and he ran the show.
 
After the tournament, (which we came second in to a good Barnsley side) it became apparent that I was back in reality. The days of Carbone, the Premiership, the cups and the glory were gone. Now is the time to embrace League One, the Johnston Paint Trophy, the vuvuzelas and the away trips to the seaside. *sigh* It’s time that we accepted that we don’t have a divine right to be playing the likes of Chelsea and Man United; we need to win that right.
 
It’s a long time since one player genuinely excited me every time he got near to the ball like Carbone did and I really hope I’ll see it again some day. I do.
 
One day we’ll get there though, I’m sure of it.
 
*cough*
 
Ok, so we’re not famous anymore, but to be honest, I don’t mind. We’re still “THE Sheffield Wednesday” as far as I’m concerned and I’m still proud, I’ll still wear my stripes and I’ll still bleed blue and white.
 
I’m Wednesday ‘til I die: be us in Europe, the Championship, League One or the Blue Square North – I’ll be there.

Written by:  Victoria Wood  (freelance writer based in Sheffield).  She can be contacted through Twitter on @Victoria1867 or through her company; Fairy Communications.

Comments
  1. zico01 says:

    ” it’s my life, it’s in my blood ” right !
    I’m travelling up for the daggers game, the fans need to get behind the team this season, it will be hard, but I have a good feeling …….
    all the best gareth

  2. Nigel Short says:

    Hi,

    I’m a drama queen because I think people will like me.

  3. Tony says:

    Hi Victoria,
    An excellent blog, and I know exactly what you mean when you talk about playing in the lower leagues after enjoying more successful seasons, my team were relegated to the 4th division a fair few years back but bounced back with our top scorer winning the coveted Adidas golden boot.
    Wednesday were until relatively recently a very successful side, I’m thinking back to the heady days of ’93 mainly, but you should count yourself lucky that you’re not a Leeds Utd supporter – they recently won the 1st division but that didn’t stop them going down to the League 1!
    I sincerely wish you, and all Owls fans a successful season, I’d dearly love to see you bounce back as I believe Sheffield is deserving of two top-flight teams. My team, the Blades!
    Good luck, Tony the Blade

Leave a Reply

