Professional Soccer Pre-Season Training Camp – Hell On Earth

Posted: July 19, 2010 in General Sports, Soccer
Tags: ,

For those who are unaware, the English soccer season starts again on August 7th. That may not mean a lot to some of you, but for me it means that I’m heading back to the pitch to train for the upcoming season and I can tell you, pre-season training is not easy at all!

I’ve been a professional soccer player in England now for 16 years and training has certainly changed, but one thing that doesn’t, is pre-season. Everybody dreads it and can’t wait for it to be over. Back when I first started out it was all about how far you could run on the beach, up steps or up hills before vomiting everywhere. Thankfully nowadays it’s more scientific and that means heart rate monitors, leg weight sessions and the dreaded V02 Max test that I will go into further if given the chance. Today’s session consisted of sprint and speed endurance tests, which was effectively the end of the really tough work this year and now we have the task of friendly matches to get up to speed for the big kick-off in just a few weeks time.

I’ve always been lucky in the respect that I happen to have natural fitness and pre-season tends to be a mere top-up for me, yet it doesn’t mean that I haven’t had any sleepless nights over it. Thankfully, it’s almost time for real competition and hopefully another great season too.

Written by @wainy11

Leave a Reply

