What You May or May Not Have Known About Lebron James Mom

Posted: July 13, 2010 in General Sports, NBA
Tags: , , , , , ,

The Sports Mole is always encompassing himself in sports, whether it be watching it on the boob tube, skimming his favorite magazines or reading fascinating sports books; it’s safe to say the learning never ends.  Well, yesterday the Mole purchased one of the most controversial sports books to ever grace a Barnes and Noble.  That book was “Personal Foul, A First-Person Account of the Scandal that Rocked the NBA” by former referee Tim Donaghy.  I can’t even begin to comprehend what I have read and the conspiracy theories stamped into my brain as a result this book, but as I continued my reading, I ran across a section that had me saying, “Wow to the 10th power!”  I will leave my own personal opinion out of this article and let you the readers draw your own conclusions on what you are about to witness: 

“As entertaining as Jack Nicholson and Spike Lee could be, my all-time favorite fan in the stands was not a celebrity at all, but rather the mother of one of the games biggest superstars.

Cleveland’s Quicken Loans Arena is home to the Cavaliers.  It’s also universally regarded as the palace for native son and franchise savior Lebron James.  King James rules his kingdom with acts of grace and daring on the court.  I’ve seen a lot of talented players in my day, but this guy is beyond spectacular.  Still in his early twenties, Lebron is basketball’s pop icon, watched and adored by fans all over the world.  Still, his biggest fan and cheerleader is the petite, attractive woman with a big voice sitting in the first row directly behind the basket – his mother Gloria.

Gloria made her presence in the league known to all the very first time her son stepped on the court.  Always cheering, always shouting, she was a virtual nonstop electric turbine in a nuclear power plant; she caught my eye, and my attention, right away.  She knows everyone on the court by their first name and loves to turn on the charm at the first opportunity. 

“Hi, Timmy, how’s my boy tonight?” she chirped.  “Gimme some love tonight Timmy.  We gotta get some love.”  Of course, she was referring to the Cavaliers getting some love from the referees, but it sure sounded good coming out of her mouth. “Okay baby.  I’ll see what I can do,” I’d respond playfully.

Whether I was directly under the basket just a couple of feet from her or on the other end of the court, I could always hear her clearly.  She made her presence known and demanded attention.

When I was watching the action under the basket on her side of the court, she would attempt to quietly distract me with playful words of flirtation.

“What room are you in at the Marriott, Timmy?” she’d giggle.

There I was, closely watching the pushing and shoving under the hoop, and I was fighting back a smile.  She was so close to me that it felt as though she was standing directly behind me, whispering and blowing in my ear.  Although I can’t offer any specifics, I’m positive she caused me to miss a few calls; when the siren sang her bewitching sweetness, I got a lump in my throat and couldn’t blow the darn whistle.  What a character, and what a great lady.”

Does this surprise us at all now that we know what we know about Gloria James fling with Lebron’s former teammate in Cleveland, Delonte West?   Is anything in this book credible considering the source?  What kind of conclusion if any can we draw and have absolute certainty in?  My head is spinning, yet I know the next time that I attend an NBA game, I will have this information floating around in the back of my head and is it wrong or unfathomable for me to ask, “Was this game rigged or how did the refs influence the outcome?”  What if anything do we really know about the world NBA Commissioner David Stern runs?

Leave a Reply

