Say Cheese Duncan Keith

Posted: May 25, 2010 in NHL
Tags: , , , , , ,

As the Mole was gandering through his sick iPod playlist, one particular song stuck out in his head as he watched the Chicago Blackhawks close out the San Jose Sharks in Game 4 of the Western Conference Finals and that was Obie Trice – Got Some Teeth.  Some might call it fate, I call it dumb luck because I have to believe Obie Trice wrote this song back in 2006 knowing full well that in 2010 Duncan Keith would lose seven of his chiclets on an icing attempt by the Sharks; but if for some reason it wasn’t… well it’s damn appropriate now! 

With the Blackhawks heading back to the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time since 1992 and the queasy site of seeing Duncan Keith’s teeth go down like a 7-10 split in the PBA’s Lumber Liquidators Bowling Tournament, the one thing that I will never forget about this series was the vivid recollection by Keith after the puck hit him in the mouth and this is what he had to say, “I took one breath and it felt like my whole mouth was missing so I knew there were some teeth gone.  I saw a couple fall out and I had one in the back of my throat. I could feel it and coughed it out. A bunch of them disintegrated it felt like.”  I suddenly feel the need to go brush and floss my teeth!  Was this the grossest sporting injury you ever witnessed?  If not what was it?

Leave a Reply

